My favorite Visual Studio Code Extensions

Guilherme Braga
3 min readMay 13, 2022

--

As I'm seeing that this alongside "My favorite Visual Studio Code themes" are your average "I'm a programmer using Medium" post, I imagined that I should do my version of It. I recently customized my VS Code a lot at work, since I am now working with Python and had to be way more careful about indentation. Love to site at work everyday and look at my purple~ish code editor with rainbows everywhere. So satisfying for some reason, now I'm never lost at a debugging phase of my work because of brackets that I accidentally deleted or lines of code that should be exactly 1 tab to the right. That kind of stuff. I realized that extensions are really a productivity tool and not some kind of styling tool as I imagined when I just started coding a few years ago. Those "plain Atom running on a Ubuntu VM" days where actually dark days, as now I understand how to properly setup some tools.

Anyway, here is my "must keep installed everyday" list.

Markdown All in One

Markdown is underrated.

Ascii Tree Generator

Makes your markdown documentation even more comprehensive.

Better C++ Syntax

It's self-explanatory.

Better Comments

Again, also self-explanatory.

Doxygen Documentation Generator

Love doxygen, used It all the time back in the day for bigger C++ projects for my University.

Import Cost

Great for all those package installs that your friends will be running in order to run your buggy code.

indent-rainbow

My favorite extension ever. So colorful.

Jupyter

It makes offline viewing more pleasurable.

Markdown Emoji

Look at this little fella, he has a hat and everything 🤠.

Material Icon Theme

Better looking icons.

Prettier

Makes your code readable If you are on a rush, not indenting properly.

Rainbow Brackets

Goes along pretty well with indent-rainbow. Again, love this.

Python Snippets

We'll get by with a little help from our friends, aren't we?

Python Indent

Because indent in Python is confusing for young coders who started in other programming languages, like myself.

--

--

Guilherme Braga

A Computer Engineer from Brazil. I write about my nerdy stuff, mostly about my experiences as an IT professional and Magic: The Gathering/boardgames.